//
you're reading...
Self Help

Things About Work My Colleagues Should Know

Writing down the reasons on why and when I should quit work, my pen was running out of ink. I found my self crying as I struggled on squeezing the right words to use.

That was the most quiet and disturbing time in my life. I felt helpless,  alone, clueless, and stupid – and I realized, I can do acting. I seldom cry. My closest friends and family know that. If I cry, it only means that I felt an extreme type of emotion. Basically I am a ‘plant’ – not capable of showing obvious reactions.

12th of June is ‘Araw ng Kalayaan’ in the Philippines and I am going to celebrate my Kalayaan as well in the corporate world. I don’t feel any excitement or sadness at all. As I’ve mentioned, I am a plant. But whenever I go to bed or take a bath, I always have these thoughts on what’s my say on the almost five year affair with the company. Yes, it’s an affair, a love and hate relationship. And for every failed or successful relationship, you learn from it. I think ours is a failure, obviously because I left but still grateful since I learned a lot.

1. Learn. Fail. Learn.

The company doesn’t give a shit on whatever achievements or titles that you have earned in school. You can never be proud of yourself having this cum Laude title on your CV, but no idea on how to get the sum without using a calculator in an excel sheet or how to filter all the names which starts with ‘A’. Yes it can be an advantage, at some point, but you have to prepare yourself with the familiarity on new processes, tools, and don’t forget the new environment and  faces (that can make or break your stay in the company). Since  you are a newbie, you have to be open on learning new things. Ask questions if you are clueless, jot down notes (to avoid annoying your colleagues with the same questions being asked), accept if you fail and learn from it. There is nothing wrong in failing unless you keep it your self and forget about it since it’s over. Best way to correct a mistake is to check where it went wrong, find possible solutions, hand it down to your lead & be honest on what really happened.

2. Be responsible.

You are being paid to work and your work has a great impact to the business. Respect the time. Follow your schedule and perform work as agreed with your team. Your worth in the team is being measured by your productivity. If you are no longer productive, the company doesn’t need you at all. Be proactive and feel free to extend help if needed. The success of a business doesn’t basically depend on how great you work as an individual, but on how the whole team you are with performs. One spoiled apple can spoil the bunch (or the other way round).

3. Don’t waste time with trash.

A good piece of work must be effective and efficient. A weekly report with weekly escalations is not effective. To be effective, a process owner must be able to deliver work with all queries answered correctly. Efficiency has to do with the length of time spent in a process. If the work is taking too much time and procedures are redundant, then it might be inefficient. And it is very important to know if your client really needs & understands what you are doing. You don’t want to do stuff that takes too long but nobody even bother to check it, right? – unless self fulfillment is not an issue.

4. Find what motivates you. Live.

‘Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life’ – Confucius. How great it would be if you are working on something that you are passionate about. Don’t waste your time and effort on something that you really don’t want to do. But this can be a case to case basis specially if money matters. However, you have the freedom to explore on what you are capable of and your own happiness is in your hands.

“And then there is the most dangerous risk of all – the risk of spending your life not doing what you want on the bet you can buy yourself the freedom to do it later.”

Randy Komisar’s “The Monk and the Riddle”

5. Be grateful.

You can say all the negative feedback on the company that you had but never forget to say thank you since an opportunity or opportunities were given to you (though not enough / fair  at some point). Your growth as an individual has something to do with the decision making skills that you’ve learned at work. In the corporate world, you learn how to be professional and get used to being mad at times but still showing respect to your colleagues and managers. You mastered the skill of multitasking when you’ve reached the deadliest deadlines. And you get to expand your territory by building connections, personally or professionally.

I remember my self telling someone that I never imagined my self leaving the company. It must have been the time that I feel secured, stable, and not happy nor sad. But when I realized that life is not just about eating thrice & sleeping 7-8 hours a day, that’s when I started to question myself.. how am I going to spend this ticket to the greatest show on Earth?

About crlmanalo

Made in the Philippines since 1990

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

